Liam McIlvanney wins McIlvanney prize

News - Prizes Monday, 24 September 2018

Author of The Quaker takes award named in honour of his father, as Bloody Scotland sets ticket sales record

The McIlvanney Prize 2018 has gone to Liam McIlvanney for The Quaker (HarperCollins). McIlvanney received the £1,000 prize - named in honour of his father William McIlvanney - at the opening of the Bloody Scotland crime writing festival on Friday (21 September). Denise Mina, who won the prize last year with The Long Drop, handed over the cheque and an engraved decanter.

The judges were Susan Calman, Craig Sisterson and Alison Flood. Calman said: "The Quaker was, for me, the stand out book from the longlist. It's one of those novels that as soon as I finished it, I looked forward to reading it again. Not only did I love the evocative recreation of Glasgow but the characters created were refreshing and surprising. It was such a pleasure to read."

Ticket sales at Bloody Scotland were 17% up on the previous year.

Photo: Denise Mina and Liam McIlvanney

Past winners and dedicatee's son on McIlvanney shortlist

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »