Margaret MacMillan to chair Cundill prize

News - Prizes Friday, 19 May 2017

Professor of International History at Oxford and author to chair $75,000 history prize in its tenth year

Historian Margaret MacMillan has been announced as the Chair of Jury for the international Cundill History Prize, which celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. Canada’s McGill University is relaunching the prize to highlight history writing as 'a way to illuminate the truth at a time in world affairs when informed, factual debate is increasingly losing out to populism and retrenchment is on the rise.'

The Cundill History Prize recognizes and rewards the best history writing in English, with $75,000 going to the Cundill History Prize winner, and the two runners up each receiving a Recognition of Excellence Award worth $10,000.

MacMillan said "History – good, readable, evidence-based history – is part of the toolbox of democracy. We live in a challenging world and it is more important than ever to understand ourselves and others, where we came from and where we might be going, and only history can provide those insights."

The prize is open to books published in English from any country in the world, regardless of the nationality or place of residence of their authors.

Previous winners include Anne Applebaum and Lisa Jardine. This year's winner will be announced at the Cundill History Prize awards ceremony in Montreal on November 16.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »