Parliamentary Book Awards 2018 shortlist unveiled

News - Prizes Friday, 09 November 2018

Ruth Davidson, Alan Johnson, Tessa Jowell and Yuval Noah Harari among contenders

The shortlist has been announced this morning for the 2018 Parliamentary Book Awards, the only political book awards voted for by parliamentarians.

Parliamentary Book Awards 2018 Shortlist:

Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian

The Power of Politicians by Tessa Jowell, and Frances D' Souza, edited and with an introduction by Claire Foster-Gilbert (Haus Publishing (published with the Westminster Abbey Institute))
In My Life: A Music Memoir by Alan Johnson (Transworld)
Confession of a Recovering MP by Nick de Bois (Biteback)
Confessions of a Political Maverick by Austin Mitchell (Biteback)

Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian
Equal Power: Gender Equality and How to Achieve It by Jo Swinson (Atlantic)
Eve Was Shamed: How British Justice is Failing Women
by Helena Kennedy (Random House)
Yes She Can: Why Women Own The Future by Ruth Davidson (Hodder)
Adam Smith: What He Thought, and Why it Matters by Jesse Norman (Penguin)

Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian
Poverty Safari: Understanding the Anger of Britain's Underclass by Darren McGarvey (Picador)
21 Lessons for the 21st Century by Yuval Noah Harari (Random House)
Why We Get The Wrong Politicians by Isabel Hardman (Atlantic)

Publishers were invited to nominate books and authors for the awards, and the shortlist was drawn up by booksellers. Voting is now open for parliamentarians to decide the winner in each category.

Stephen Lotinga, the chief executive of the PA, said: "Great political writing offers us a lens through which we can examine our society and the world around us. This year's shortlist of authors provides us with many profound insights into the tumultuous events of the last year, touching on important themes of gender, equality and the nature of power. I look forward to celebrating all of these important books at the House of Commons in December."

Meryl Halls, managing director of the BA, said: "The Parliamentary Book Awards showcase the incredible range of political writing today, and we are looking forward to celebrating this year's shortlist of interesting and important books. The shortlist, voted on by Britain's booksellers, highlights some of the most pressing issues in 2018, exploring gender politics, poverty, and the responsibilities of politicians to the public. It is now up to our parliamentarians to vote for their favourites in the coming weeks."

2017's awards saw a number of significant political figures emerge as winners, from Nick Clegg with How to Stop Brexit (And Make Britain Great Again), to Harriet Harman for her memoir A Woman's Work, in which she discussed her career as Britain's longest-serving female MP. Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian was won by Brendan Cox for his portrait of his late wife, Jo Cox.

The awards will be held at a parliamentary reception on 4 December in the House of Commons. Launched by the BA and the PA in 2016, the annual awards champion the best of political writing and celebrate the link between politics and publishing.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »