RNA crowns industry award winners

News - Prizes Thursday, 15 November 2018

Romantic Novelists' Association Industry awards presented last night; Avon crowned publisher of the year, Amanda Preston from LBA agent of the year

The five awards were presented during the RNA’s Winter Party, held in the Library at the Institute of Mechanical Engineers on Birdcage Walk. The RNA Industry Awards are decided by the membership, with every member eligible to nominate within each category. The awards and RNA citations are below.

Publisher of the Year
For the publisher who embraces the genre, mentors writers to produce their best work, and is innovative, creative and visionary in the marketing and promotion of Romantic Fiction on every level. This year’s award was accepted by Rachel Faulkner-Willcocks, on behalf of Avon Books UK, for their commercial acumen and their energy, expertise and commitment to the genre and its authors. Runner-ups were Laura McCallen from Canelo, and Emma Capron from Simon & Schuster.

Agent of the Year
For the literary agent who has striven to support, mentor, nurture and promote their authors’ careers, the genre in general and the RNA in particular. This year’s winner, Amanda Preston from LBA, was nominated for her championing of romantic fiction and support for the RNA. With a list featuring several authors in the genre, she was praised for being supporting, unfailingly enthusiastic and never afraid to explore new directions. Kate Nash, from Kate Nash Literary Agency, and Juliet Pickering, from Blake Friedmann, were joint runners-up.

Romantic Bookseller of the Year
This award recognises booksellers promoting and championing romantic fiction in a positive and proactive way throughout the year. Store manager Elizabeth Shaw accepted the award on behalf of Waterstones, Truro. David Headley and team at Goldsboro Books were joint runners-up with Andrew Sellers and the team from Blackwells, Leeds.

Media Star of the Year
Blogger Kaisha Holloway from The Writing Garnet was awarded Media Star of the Year for her great support for authors and her honest, detailed and reflective reviews. This award recognises journalists, bloggers, publicists, TV or radio presenters who have helped raise the profile of romance writing and/or the RNA in a positive way. Bloggers Anne Cater, from Random Things Through My Letterbox and Rachel Gilbey, from Rachel’s Random Reads, were joint runners-up.

Librarian of the Year
This award recognises the important work that librarians do in supporting the romantic fiction genre, and the Association in particular. The winner was Sharon Hunt, from Kingswinford Library in Dudley, for being committed to supporting and promoting romantic fiction through library events, reviews, and publicity. Runner-ups Will Cooban from Bexley Libraries, and Ben Woodfine from Bedford Libraries, were nominated for their continual support and proactivity, and for bringing romantic fiction events to their region.

Pictured: RNA chair Nicola Cornick, Rachel Faulkner-Willcocks, Sharon Hunt, Elizabeth Shaw, Amanda Preston, RNA vice-chair Alison May

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »