Transworld splashes six figures for Mix Tape

Claire Coughlan
Rights - Fiction Tuesday, 08 January 2019

Jane Sanderson's new novel will appeal to 'readers of David Nicholls, Laura Barnett and Ruth Jones'


Francesca Best, editorial director at Transworld, has bought Mix Tape, a nostalgic novel by Jane Sanderson, in a two-book deal worth a six-figure sum. Transworld has UK and Commonwealth rights from Andrew Gordon at David Higham Associates. Sanderson is the author of the Netherwood trilogy, published by Sphere, and This Much Is True, published by Orion. She has worked as a journalist and producer for BBC Radio 4.

Mix Tape (Bantam Press, early 2020) is "an absorbing, poignantly nostalgic and romantic novel that will appeal to readers of David Nicholls, Laura Barnett and Ruth Jones". The novel begins at a party in Sheffield in 1978, when Alison and Dan are teenagers beginning a relationship. In the present day, they are both married with children and leading very different lives: Dan is a music journalist in Edinburgh, and Alison an acclaimed writer in Australia. Then, by chance, they reconnect, and start exchanging the songs they used to love.

Best said: "I fell in love with Mix Tape from the first page. The voices and characterisation feel incredibly assured - and each storyline, whether it's Dan in Edinburgh, Alison in Adelaide or the late 70s to early 80s in Sheffield, is richly detailed and utterly enthralling. It’s romantic yet realistic, and there's a lovely nostalgic feel to the book. Plus it's packed with great music you want to seek out and listen to."

Sanderson said: "I know that in Transworld I've found the perfect home for Mix Tape - the enthusiasm of the entire team for my novel has been utterly heartwarming, and I'm extremely happy to have joined their illustrious list of authors."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video

home_page_chart

more charts »