DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2017 longlist

News - Prizes Monday, 14 August 2017

Man Booker winner Aravind Adiga among 13 contenders

The longlist for the US $25,000 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2017 has been announced.

Ritu Menon, chair of the judges, made the announcement at the Oxford Bookstore in New Delhi.

Anjali Joseph, The Living (4th Estate, HarperCollins, UK)
Anosh Irani, The Parcel (4th Estate, HarperCollins, India)
Anuk Arudpragasam, The Story of a Brief Marriage (Granta, UK)
Aravind Adiga, Selection Day (4th Estate HarperCollins, India)
Ashok Ferrey, The Ceaseless Chatter of Demons (Penguin Books, Penguin Random House, India)
Hirsh Sawhney, South Haven (Akashic Books, USA)
Karan Mahajan, The Association of Small Bombs (Chatto & Windus, UK)
KR Meera, The Poison of Love (translated by Ministhy S; Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House, India)
Omar Shahid Hamid, The Party Worker (Pan Macmillan, India)
Perumal Murugan, Pyre (translated by Aniruddhan Vasudevan; Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House, India)
Sarvat Hasin, This Wide Night (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House, India)
Shahbano Bilgrami, Those Children (HarperCollins, India)
Stephen Alter, In the Jungles of the Night (Aleph Book Company, India)

Menon said: "As a jury, we were struck by several exceptional qualities in the novels selected, their inventiveness and creativity, both of subject matter and in literary treatment. We admired the maturity and humanity of the perspective they brought to bear on their characters, and the delicacy of their observations on difficult or troubled situations. We were beguiled by their wit and humour, as well as impressed by the versatility of their skill when dealing with history. And we were reminded that, although the writers' preoccupations may be universal and their sensibility cosmopolitan, their voices are distinctly South Asian."

A shortlist of five or six novels will be announced on 27 September at the LSE in London. The winner will be announced on 18 November at the Dhaka Literary Festival.

Ritu Menon's fellow judges are Valentine Cunningham, Steven Bernstein, Yasmin Alibhai-Brown, and Senath Walter Perera.

The 2016 winner was Anuradha Roy, for Sleeping on Jupiter.


Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »