Wolfson dates set

News - Prizes Friday, 22 March 2019

11 June will see UK's most valuable non-fiction prize awarded to the winning historian at Claridges

The Wolfson History Prize has confirmed the dates for the forty-seventh Prize, including the shortlist announcement and awards ceremony.

The shortlist of six historical non-fiction books will be announced on Monday 15 April, and the winner will be named at a ceremony at Claridge’s on Tuesday 11 June. The winning author takes home £40,000, with each shortlisted author receiving £4,000.

The Wolfson History Prize (@WolfsonHistory) is the top history prize in the UK, and the most valuable non-fiction writing prize in the UK.

Last year's winner was Peter Marshall for his book Heretics and Believers: A History of the English Reformation (Yale). Previous winners have included Mary Beard, Simon Schama, Eric J. Hobsbawm, Amanda Vickery, Antony Beevor, Christopher Bayly and Antonia Fraser.

Earlier this year Midas was appointed to handle PR for the prize.

Photo: Peter Marshall (left) and judge Sir Richard Evans at the 2018 ceremony with chair of judges Sir David Cannadine is in the background (far left)

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »