Amanda Johnson appointed Costa Book Awards director

News - Prizes Monday, 1st June 2020

2020 Book of the Year opens for entries

Amanda Johnson has been appointed as the new director of the Costa Book Awards. She has directed PR for the awards since 2005, and also led PR for the Women's Prize for Fiction from 2004 to 2018. She succeeds Bud McLintock, who earlier in 2020 stepped down after 25 years in the role.

Jill McDonald, CEO of Costa Coffee, said: "We're delighted to welcome Amanda into her new role. She brings with her a huge breadth of awards experience, not least 15 years on the Costa Book Awards, as well as an astute understanding of consumer brands.

"Bud McLintock served the Costa Book Awards with great commitment, bringing creativity and foresight to the role. From her work with publishers, authors and booksellers to the creation of the Costa Short Story Award in 2012, she helped to build the prestige and integrity of the awards year-on-year. We wish Bud well in her future endeavours."

Johnson said: "I've loved working on the Costa Book Awards in my role as publicity director and learnt a huge amount from Bud during the 15 years we worked together so it's a real privilege to step up as overall director of these prestigious and much-loved awards."

Entry forms for the 2020 Costa Book Awards are now available from the Booksellers Association. Books first published in the UK and Ireland between 1 November 2019 and 31 October 2020 are eligible. The deadline for entry is 30 June. Further details from Naomi Gane at

Riot Communications has been appointed to handle PR for the Costas, working with digital creative agency the Ten Group. Goose Live Events will deliver the awards ceremony; the Booksellers Association handles administration.

Awards timetable
Tuesday 24 November: category shortlists announced (four books per category)
Monday 4 January 2021: category winners announced
Tuesday 26 January 2021: Costa Book of the Year (selected from the five category winners) and winner of Costa Short Story Award announced

The category winners (Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry, Children's Book) receive £5,000 each. The Book of the Year winner receives a further £30,000. The Costa Short Story Award winner receives £3,500.