Next DRF Writers Award brought forward a year

News - Prizes Tuesday, 6th April 2021

Submissions for £10,000 award open until 1 July

Colm Tóibín (chair), Deepa Anappara, Anna James and Ingrid Persaud will judge the 2021 Deborah Rogers Foundation (DRF) Writers Award. The award, in memory of the late literary agent, is to help a writer complete his or her first book, and is worth £10,000. Though biennial and originally due to be given next in 2022, it has been brought forward a year.

Entries have opened. The deadline is 1 July.

Gill Coleridge, founder of the DRF, said: "Deborah was passionate about supporting new writers and so, in the spirit of this prize set up in her memory, we want to help them towards publication now rather than wait another year. I hope this opportunity will help the longlisted and winning writers become as successful as the roll call of previous DRF winners is proving to be."

The judges will announce a shortlist of three in November; the award will be presented in London on 7 December. The two runners-up will receive £1,000 each.

The winner the 2020 award was 'Pemi Aguda for The Suicide Mothers.